Unable to configure OK Google voice detection (Droid Turbo 2)

bscallan

Sep 10, 2017
Visit site
Droid Turbo 2
Android V7.0
Verizon latest update (7 Sep 2017) 25.216.2

I have attempted fruitlessly to configure the Google app and assistant to recognize my voice; i.e., "Ok Google" detection.

When I attempt to teach the assistant my voice (it asks you to say "Ok Google" three times) I have the following message box appear at the bottom of my screen "Trouble with the microphone. Try again in a few seconds"

The app allows me to conduct voice searches without any problem, so the microphone seems to work just fine from the Google app. Phone calls work fine, as well and voice to text via Textra.

Anyone have any hints???

BTW, I have rebooted the phone a few times, and it resolved nothing.

Sep 10, 2017
Visit site
I find both Google and Moto frustrating. I'm a truck driver, I have a good quality headphones with mic, but the truck has ambient noise.
When I try to configure them, it says "you can't use an external mic, unplug it and use the native mic": when I do, it says "your environment is too noisy. Kindly go away until you're in dead quiet."
So I just control it with my fingers because the system is inadequately capable.

Scott337

Apr 22, 2017
Visit site
I find both Google and Moto frustrating. I'm a truck driver, I have a good quality headphones with mic, but the truck has ambient noise.
When I try to configure them, it says "you can't use an external mic, unplug it and use the native mic": when I do, it says "your environment is too noisy. Kindly go away until you're in dead quiet."
So I just control it with my fingers because the system is inadequately capable.