One Handed typing Android - switch from Pre

grantnmel

Apr 21, 2010
Visit site
Hey All,

I'm a Palm Pre user and love my phone. I wish I could look forward to a future ever better WebOS devices, but it looks like the writing may be on the wall for Palm.

I'm a small business owner and spend the majority of my day driving to appointments and talking on the phone. Flipping my pre open w/ my thumb and typing names or phone numbers in (unfortunately while I drive) is very important to me - the horizontal keyboard layout doesn't work well for this (had HTC mogul & just couldn't). How practical is this with the Andriod on-screen keyboards? I've heard that Android voice recognition (at least on Nexus One) is very advanced - could I dictate names or numbers instead of the one hand typing?

Are there any Android devices w/ a physical keyboard in the same orientation as the Pre?

Anyone working on an inductive charger for any Android devices? I will sorely miss the touchstone - it's so elegant. I've mounted one on my dashboard and the magnet holds my phone in place & keeps the phone topped off while I drive.

How's ActiveSync/Exchange on Andriod compare to Pre.

Thanks a ton in Advance!

- Grant

G

GenericMessage

Hey All,

I'm a Palm Pre user and love my phone. I wish I could look forward to a future ever better WebOS devices, but it looks like the writing may be on the wall for Palm.

I'm a small business owner and spend the majority of my day driving to appointments and talking on the phone. Flipping my pre open w/ my thumb and typing names or phone numbers in (unfortunately while I drive) is very important to me - the horizontal keyboard layout doesn't work well for this (had HTC mogul & just couldn't). How practical is this with the Andriod on-screen keyboards? I've heard that Android voice recognition (at least on Nexus One) is very advanced - could I dictate names or numbers instead of the one hand typing?