Z4 Unroot Q

alphabets

Nov 23, 2009
Visit site
i dont run a cutom rom or anything...just unstable apps overclocked, setpcu, minfreemanager, and titanium backup. so, if i need to unroot to receive the update coming soon do i need to do anything other than just simply hit the unroot button on the Z4 app? or should i remove the other apps first or is that unnecessary? thanks.

El Jefe

Oct 15, 2010
Visit site
+1

I would love to know this too. The only superuser apps I use are Wireless Tether, Cache Cleaner, Titanium Backup, & Adfree.

I hope z4root works after the update too because it looks like it was pulled from the market. I think it can still be found @ XDA, but knew to grab it while it was available because it was too good to last and EasyRoot was pulled right before I got it when still on 2.1

pank

Jun 12, 2010
Visit site
I'm no expert on this since I just starting using ROMs myself but I think you are always best to do a Nandroid backup the second you finish simply rooting your phone and have made no other changes.

Then when OTA updates come out you can restore that Nandroid backup and unroot from there.

juggalofx

Oct 6, 2010
Visit site
I'm no expert on this since I just starting using ROMs myself but I think you are always best to do a Nandroid backup the second you finish simply rooting your phone and have made no other changes.

Then when OTA updates come out you can restore that Nandroid backup and unroot from there.

Yeah which I was to dumb to do :( now I am stuck with my flashed roms. I tried looking up sbfing but I don't understand in and everyone said it brings you back to eclair not froyo. Which came stock on my droid x.

Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk

GatorPT

Jul 21, 2010
Visit site
There is no reason to uninstall root only apps when upgrading your phone. (i didnt have any trouble when i finally upgraded to Froyo , off of the leaked version)
SBF is really not very hard at all . Believe me if i can learn how to do it , anyone can.