Advice Please (Picking a phone, I'm an Android Noob!)

dancing-bass

Jan 3, 2011
Visit site
OK, so my wife surprised me and wants to switch carriers so we can get MODERN phones (long story)

She wants an iPhone. No problem - different strokes and all that

I'm taking a hard look at the Gnex, although the carrier I'm looking at also has the Sammy GSII X.

Looking at specs listed alone (without digging into WHICH processor is actually better) the GSII X looks better, but here's the thing I really want to know. I'm looking long term - Canadian carrier = 3yr contracts, so which is likely to have the best LONG TERM support? (I assume the Gnex) and which has the more sturdy PHYSICAL build? Again, its a 3yr term. Yes, I'll have at minimum a screen protector and likely a case on it, but still....

I don't know how often Google does a Nexus phone (haven't researched that) but I do understand that Nexus phones are supposed to have support from Google pretty much as long as the hardware is capable of running the updates (be it a patch or a new version aka Jellybean... or KidneyBean... or LimaBean.... ). So What do you extra smart Android people know and recommend?

Background: I'm Used to older Blackberry OS (4.5) although I've played around very briefly with iOS and Blackberry's Playbook. Android knowlege is limited to reading this wonderful site and a few minutes poking at a friend's Razr

And and all information is read, and appreciated. Thanks in advance :)

Samsmalls

Dec 29, 2010
Visit site
I recommend galaxy nexus... Only because it has the latest Android software. Three years is a long time for a cellular contact, You do have a partial upgrade right? I hope you don't have to keep this purchase for 36 months!? As any smartphone will be outdated, however if so feel free to grab whatever seeing that you'll there's a good chance you'll be tired of it & device is seriously outdated

dancing-bass

Jan 3, 2011
Visit site