Hi, I'm new to Android OS and Galaxy Note. Help with USB storage!

trinxified

Feb 23, 2012
Visit site
Hi guys. I came from crackberry.com forums, and I just recently switched from a BlackBerry to Android (Galaxy Note). I'm from Toronto, Canada and my carrier is Telus.

I'm still learning and getting the hang of the Android OS but the one thing I can't seem to figure out is USB storage. It says that my phone should have 16GB of space to install apps/games, etc... Also, anyone know how I can update the OS? (especially when Ice Cream Sandwich comes out)

I can't seem to figure out how to access the USB storage that has about 11GB available. All my apps/games are installing on the 2GB system storage, and I don't want all of it to stay there. How to move it?

I currently don't have a SD card yet, but is there a way to move the apps/games to the available USB storage?

Thanks for the help guys! Welcome me to Android! :)

Cyber Warrior

Robots Will Kill
Nov 28, 2010
Visit site
Re: Hi, I'm new to Android OS and Galaxy Note. Help with USB stor

For OS updates... they will be automatically pushed to the phone.. or you can go to Menu.. Settings.. About phone.. System updates. Keep an eye on the forums and homepage blog here for any info for your device.

As for storage...theres 16 GB of Internal Storage.
16 GB internal storage, raw hardware
12.9 GB internal storage, available to user

3 GB is being used for the OS.. thats why it's only showing 12-13 GB available. Not all apps can be moved... I'm not too familiar with that device but you can try going to Manage Applications in the settings.. clicking on an app and see if theres an option to "move to sd card"

Someone that actually owns the device should be able to help you out better with the apps and storage space question.

Edit: info about sd card fixed.

Last edited:

trinxified

Feb 23, 2012
Visit site