Just got the Skyrocket!! My initial review

TvTechGuru

Nov 25, 2009
Visit site
Hello all, on Friday I left Verizon for AT&T and got the Skyrocket! I'm very happy with my decision. I waited and shopped around. Wanted to stay with Verizon but they just did not have any phones that really appealed to me. I'm a heavy researcher, so I really look into phones before I decide on my next one.

I was hesitant to leave Verizon since I have not had any problems with them for the 2 years I was with them and had my OG Droid. Service was excellent, no dropped calls and fast & consistent data coverage. After asking family, friends, and co-workers who have AT&T I was reassured my coverage and data speeds would be good. So far I can say that's true. I have achieved the same quality of voice calls and data speeds on AT&T's HSPA+ (no LTE here yet) as I did with Verizon's 3G. I'm glad about that!

So anyway, I got the White Skyrocket with the Otterbox Commuter Series case (dark blue) and in advance purchased a 32GB Micro SDHC Class 10 card off Newegg.

I am loving everything about this phone! It performs flawlessly! The processor makes everything move blazing fast. Multitasking is effortless. I'm getting used to Android 2.3.5 as I came from 2.2 with my old OG Droid. I also like Samsung's UI over Android. I don't understand the complaints. You can customize and control how much you want to use from it. Except for the bottom row of icons. But even then you can customize the left 3 icons. I really love Super AMOLED, what a joy to view. I haven't experienced any screen defects like few have reported with other Super AMOLED phones. Everything is crisp, clear and bright. I love it. I consider myself an advanced user and I have no complaints so far. I'm not one of the super tech users or whatever they like to be called; the ones that root and get really nit picky. So I won't notice the flaws they seem to.

I'm so glad I didn't wait around for the Galaxy Nexus! Yes I'm one of the few. :)