Why is my Galaxy S4 battery draining so quickly?

dwyert

Dec 15, 2014
Visit site
Galaxy S4 Battery Drain

I have noticed that in the past two days my phone hasn't been holding much of a charge. I have a Galaxy S4 4.4.2

I do not play games on it, watch movies, videos, etc. I use it for light to moderate text messaging, the occasional scroll down face book, e-mail, etc. I have auto-sync turned off on linked accounts such as google and face book, I do not use gps, and have most of the "nifty" features that the phone has, turned off.

I use power save mode, often keep low to mid light screen settings, wi-fi on at home.

Oftentimes, it'd be the second day before I would charge it, and it wasn't out of need as often there would be 20-30% left when I did decide to re-charge it. I have not downloaded any new apps. As I spend more time home now as a distance education student, I use my phone less and less than I had previously in the past year or so.

All in all. I have no idea why this is happening. It isn't an old phone. A little over a year. I looked at the battery manager on the phone and the main drain on the battery was the android iSO. In approx. an hour it drained 20%, this is a staggering difference than the capacities that it very recently had.

I do not have a rooted phone and I don't feel comfortable doing as much to it, in fear of messing it up or bricking my phone (if that is even possible with these). I did a little research online about the same issue, but I believe that while it might be a blanket issue of "battery drain" every phone is different because of the user. I also read some refer to SD problems and how getting a new one remedied their problems, however I do not use an SD card in mine and never have.

Any general thoughts?
I am in the process of charging now, and will then download a battery monitoring app to see if there is anything I am not immediately seeing. I hope this can be remedied and isn't going to further effect my phone.

B. Diddy