Captivate update went fine, but I wish I had not done it.

retnuh

Aug 19, 2010
Visit site
I applied the update to my Captivate without any problems. However, my GPS, like many others are reporting, did not improve. Also, "Media Scanning", like many others have reported, did not perform any faster. But, the "PC Internet" button is no longer available when you connect with a USB cable. My phone is not rooted and does not have any third party apps. Is there a simple way for a complete newbe to reverse the update?

thanks
retnuh

anneoneamouse

Jul 15, 2010
Visit site
Xda forums have a one-click restore to stock. It requires some messing around, but instructions are complete. Make sure you are in the captivate forum there before downloading and applying the update :)

AoN

retnuh

Aug 19, 2010
Visit site
Thanks anneoneamouse. I downloaded a program called ODIN3. But then read several posts about people who said not to use it unless you have no other options. There were various issues. Can you recommend another, safe, program?

jflexe99

Droids!
Sep 4, 2010
Visit site
I used odin to flash to stock. You can use Titanium backup to backup your apps and all. You export your contacts to your external SD card. Put the data on the computer, just in case...use Odin to go back to stock. Install Titanium to reinstall apps and all. I never had the opportunity to really use Titanium.

I am on STOCK 2.1. Not 2.1 update 1. But I am rooted and OCLF and I am SO very happy. My previous setup was a bit laggy and permission problems.

Hope that helps a little.

To use odin you need to get to download screen which is VERY simple...
Turn off Captivate
Turn on Odin
Wait a minute
Push the up and down volume on phone(DONT press power)
Right after you press them plug in your USB into your phone(already connected to PC)
Hold volume controls till Downloading screen comes up, let Odin detect the phone...
Press start