Trying to root is driving me crazy

tunie

Phhhhbbbbtttt
Apr 7, 2011
Visit site
I'm ready to just forget it. I can't boot into download mode. It simply won't do it. I've read the sticky, almost all the postings in that thread and all I want to do is forget it and go out for dinner. One post says, "do this". Another post says, "No, do this:" I'm new to Android (2.5 mos) and don't have the lingo down yet but, when it says to hold volume down and press the power key, that's pretty simple. Still, nothing happens. My phone just boots up as usual.

Can anyone make this a simpler process for someone with an Android single digit IQ? :)

Sooo frustrated...

kenmitch

Oct 10, 2011
Visit site
Power off the phone and then plug USB cord into phone(only the phone) hold the power + - buttons down and plug the USB cable into the computer.

Just noticed he changed his guide in the above posters link.

Reactions: tunie

tunie

Phhhhbbbbtttt
Apr 7, 2011
Visit site
Power off the phone and then plug USB cord into phone(only the phone) hold the power + - buttons down and plug the USB cable into the computer.

Just noticed he changed his guide in the above posters link.
It worked! It worked! Good grief. I searched everywhere trying to figure out what I was doing wrong, but couldn't find anything. 100 thank you's for you, oh Android guru <---bowing at feet> :)

One more thing. One post says to use ODIN 1.8, another says to use 1.7. I can't find 1.8, so I plan to use 1.7. Is that okay?

Thank you Thank you Thank you.

tunie

Phhhhbbbbtttt
Apr 7, 2011
Visit site
This is the guide I followed and it worked for me:
[How To] Easily Root your SGS2 - xda-developers

I'm "new" to android (my first android phone) but I've done some manual updating for my GF's G2 and this guide was pretty easy to follow for me. Feel free to ask me any questions before you start.