cgardnervt

Jun 24, 2011
Visit site
Will a go phone bought at best buy work with an att sim card? Non-smartphone from go phone.

Thanks! :)

Sent from my HTC One X using Android Central Forums

cgardnervt

Jun 24, 2011
Visit site
Yes. Att and most retailers won't let you buy a gophone to replace a contract phone.

What do you mean? I would just buy it and pop the SIM inside. Its going to be a hold over and backup phone to my Smartphone. More than likely an SIII.

Sorry I am a brand new ATT customer. Sorry if the questions seem stupid! :p

Cheers!

dchawk81

Sep 5, 2010
Visit site
I have a GoPhone flip as a backup to my Captivate. It works fine with a StraightTalk SIM. An AT&T SIM should be no different.

I don't know what, if any, roaming situations might be affected though.

Reactions: cgardnervt

cgardnervt

Jun 24, 2011
Visit site
Thanks for all of the info guys! Sorry I know it sounds like a dumb question but I am new to ATT. Now that I know this I will be getting a backup/hold over phone soon!

UnfocusedHTC

Jun 2, 2011
Visit site
Please don't comment on what you don't know. How can they stop you from buying a prepaid phone?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I717 using Android Central Forums

If they know your going to use it on a contract line they can refuse the sale. Also I know this because I sell at&t and Verizon for a living. It's like coming into my store and trying to buy one to replace your contract phone. I make no money on my paycheck for that sale because it isn't being set up as prepaid. I really hate it when people effect my lively hood. If I had an option to work else where I would.

Last edited:

cgardnervt

Jun 24, 2011
Visit site