I walked 10,000 steps a day for a month. Here’s what happened

randulo

Sep 3, 2023
Visit site
I'm 76 and in general good health. We all know 10,000 wa sa Japanese marketing thing, but it's a decent number. I shoot for 7,000 minimum. I'm retired so it's easy for me to get the steps I need unless the weather is too inclement.

I will say that the steps make a big difference in weight control. Walking has many advantages, although in California, where I lived for a decade, it's not easy. I was in Paris last week, ate like a pig and walked 20,000 steps a day. I lost 1.5 kilos.

Reactions: dyastrab

parksanim

May 4, 2023
Visit site
The metric should be related to steps at one time, for many people. I am a teacher and can easily log over 7,000 steps per day. Much of that is just piddling around the classroom. There is not much health benefit there. In fact, I have switched to more cushioned shoes and stand less to save my knees. I track the total, but also try to make 4,000 to 5,000 steps of walking over 2 to 3 trips, as a part of my day. No idea if that is a healthy number, but it keeps me thinking about it.

Last edited:

justafew

Jul 21, 2012
Visit site
I can appreciate the comments about trying to find time, especially as it starts to get dark earlier. And for the “boring” aspect.
My treadmill helps with both of these: I live in Texas, so summers are brutally hot - there is no “cool” period, when even at sundown it was still over 100 degrees last week, but by the time it cools down enough in the fall, it gets dark too early. But going with my daughter and my dog when we can is the absolute best option. However, when it’s too hot or too dark, I put something on my TV, throw on my earbuds and walk on my treadmill. It really helps distract me by watching a show or movie. I definitely find myself walking longer to get to the end of the episode or to a good stopping point.

parksanim

May 4, 2023
Visit site