Relationship between boot loop manufacturing defect and battery life problems?

WarER4X

Feb 1, 2010
Visit site
Search though the G4 section of this forum and you'll find a few threads where I was dealing with battery issues with my phone. Being an engineer, I tried every test/experiment I could pull off to isolate the problem and was unable to come up with anything other than it being a hardware issue after several months of trial and error with settings, apps, usage, you name it.

Verizon Customer Service saw things my way and decided to replace my phone (under warranty, of course). The replacement phone seemed marginally better, but still suffered from similar problems as before. In particular, it would exhibit random instances of large battery drains (usually attributed to Android system-level processes by GSam battery monitor). Also, like the previous phone, it would occasionally get warm in my pocket without even being used (when it should be on standby). GSam monitor graphs seemed to show some correlation with cell signal, but not consistently and it was just as much influenced by screen-on time, making it difficult to tell who the real culprit was.

The Marshmallow update came along, with "Doze Mode" on board. This helped the standby battery life noticeably (like if I'd walk away from my phone at home and come back three hours later), but the times my phone actually went into "Doze" weren't often enough to really help with overall power consumption. I pretty much just lived with it. I got into the habit of charging my phone at work every afternoon just to be sure it wouldn't die before bedtime.