Why does my S9 say " Security policy prevents use of camera?

Status
Not open for further replies.

mustang7757

Super Moderator
Moderator
Feb 6, 2017
90,758
5,431
113
Visit site
re: Why does my S9 say " Security policy prevents use of camera?

To do that connect your phone to smart switch on pc it will ask if you like to return to public stable firmware
 

Zakaria Ouh

Well-known member
Jul 5, 2015
73
0
0
Visit site
re: Why does my S9 say " Security policy prevents use of camera?

You mentioned getting the phone second-hand -- do you know if the phone was properly factory reset prior to you buying it? Was the previous owner's Google and Samsung accounts removed prior to the factory reset?

Any way to find out if this was a work phone for the previous owner, provided by (or supervised by) their workplace IT?

I Bought it from a retailer who dit tell me nothing about it , bro.
google account was already removed.
So , I went ahead and factory reseted it myself.
Sorry , but I coudln't get my brain around what you meant with this "workplace IT " ? What does it mean ?
And if my phone isn't like a personal phone how would this have anything to with my situation ?
Explain more to me. I've read some sort of the same question in a different thread but no given answer after that.
 

Zakaria Ouh

Well-known member
Jul 5, 2015
73
0
0
Visit site
re: Why does my S9 say " Security policy prevents use of camera?

To do that connect your phone to smart switch on pc it will ask if you like to return to public stable firmware

I'm stuck in a different city for about 5 months up to now cause of Covid-19.
I left my laptop at home. And now I can't even contat my relatives in whatsapp ( microphone isn't working. So , no voice calls ).
That' why I needed help and posted , brother.
 

mustang7757

Super Moderator
Moderator
Feb 6, 2017
90,758
5,431
113
Visit site
Re: Why my S9 says " security policy prevents use of camera ?

I'm stuck in a different city for about 5 months up to now cause of Covid-19.
I left my laptop at home. And now I can't even contat my relatives in whatsapp ( microphone isn't working. So , no voice calls ).
That' why I needed help and posted , brother.
Oh wow !

It's going be tough without a computer.

Only thing i can suggest , is look on samsunfirmware science, see if you could find the next beta build , download it from your browser and copy to your sd card and update through recovery .
 

B. Diddy

Senior Ambassador
Moderator
Mar 9, 2012
165,028
4,082
113
Visit site
re: Why does my S9 say " Security policy prevents use of camera?

Sorry , but I coudln't get my brain around what you meant with this "workplace IT " ? What does it mean ?

If a workplace provides a phone to a worker, the phone usually has MDM (mobile device management) software installed that allows the workplace's IT department to supervise the phone's use, and often to block certain functions of the phone.
 

Zakaria Ouh

Well-known member
Jul 5, 2015
73
0
0
Visit site
re: Why does my S9 say " Security policy prevents use of camera?

If a workplace provides a phone to a worker, the phone usually has MDM (mobile device management) software installed that allows the workplace's IT department to supervise the phone's use, and often to block certain functions of the phone.

WOW ! that's unfair ?????? and how do I know if my phone has MDM ?
 

Mike Dee

Ambassador
May 14, 2014
23,368
191
63
Visit site
re: Why does my S9 say " Security policy prevents use of camera?

WOW ! that's unfair ������ and how do I know if my phone has MDM ?

Usually it will be an app with the letters MDM in it and it's not unfair for a workplace to install it on a corporate phone.
 

Zakaria Ouh

Well-known member
Jul 5, 2015
73
0
0
Visit site
re: Why does my S9 say " Security policy prevents use of camera?

Usually it will be an app with the letters MDM in it and it's not unfair for a workplace to install it on a corporate phone.

My phone has MDM bro and it sucks as hell ������
Is there anyway to bypass it ?
Camera doesn't work at all.
Microphone doesn't work in recorder , whatsapp / yubo / telegram.
Now , I just noticed that rotation doesn't work too !
Is there any fix for this because I feel monitored and controlled.
I paid 500$ for this and look what I got.
 

mustang7757

Super Moderator
Moderator
Feb 6, 2017
90,758
5,431
113
Visit site
re: Why does my S9 say " Security policy prevents use of camera?

My phone has MDM bro and it sucks as hell ������
Is there anyway to bypass it ?
Camera doesn't work at all.
Microphone doesn't work in recorder , whatsapp / yubo / telegram.
Now , I just noticed that rotation doesn't work too !
Is there any fix for this because I feel monitored and controlled.
I paid 500$ for this and look what I got.
No we can't discuss that here , so let's not go any further about that .
 

B. Diddy

Senior Ambassador
Moderator
Mar 9, 2012
165,028
4,082
113
Visit site
re: Why does my S9 say " Security policy prevents use of camera?

My phone has MDM bro and it sucks as hell ������
Is there anyway to bypass it ?
Camera doesn't work at all.
Microphone doesn't work in recorder , whatsapp / yubo / telegram.
Now , I just noticed that rotation doesn't work too !
Is there any fix for this because I feel monitored and controlled.
I paid 500$ for this and look what I got.

So you confirmed it has MDM installed? That's something for you to take up with the person who sold you the phone. When buying a phone from any reseller (especially a private seller), it's up to you to do your own due diligence researching the phone to make sure it's worth the purchase.

I'm afraid we can't help you. MDM software is a legitimate way for a company to control its data and assets.
 

Zakaria Ouh

Well-known member
Jul 5, 2015
73
0
0
Visit site
re: Why does my S9 say " Security policy prevents use of camera?

So you confirmed it has MDM installed? That's something for you to take up with the person who sold you the phone. When buying a phone from any reseller (especially a private seller), it's up to you to do your own due diligence researching the phone to make sure it's worth the purchase.

I'm afraid we can't help you. MDM software is a legitimate way for a company to control its data and assets.

He is not a private seller bro. He is a retailer.
And he can't do nothing about it. He won't even accept it back from me.
All I need to know is if there is a a possible way to bypass this MDM with ADB / Root or anything like that.
I only need a yes / no question if you can't help me more than this.
I appreciate your help though.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.