Former BB User - Simple Nexus GSM Question?

Ron Earp

Dec 20, 2011
Visit site
The Verizon galaxy Nexus is my first smartphone, my former phone being a BB Tour. I have learned the Nexus isn't GSM capable which means it'll be useless on my trips to Europe.

Now, is it possible for me to purchase an unlocked Galaxy Nexus from Europe (or an online US retailer that imports them) to get GSM capability? And if I did would the GSM version also have 4G capability? If that isn't possible with the Galaxy Nexus would it be possible with the new RAZR?

I'm sorry for the ignorance of these questions but I'm just learning the terms of this new "hobby". The BB isn't a great phone, but one thing it did do well is handle calls and work well in Europe. I'd hate to get used to a new smartphone only to have to swap back to a BB or something similar for a couple of months out of the year.

Thank you,
Ron

iBowToAndroid

Sep 12, 2010
Visit site
1. Blackberries are also considered smartphones.

2. The GSM version will never work on the Verizon network.

3. To use a Verizon phone in Europe, you would need to have an international phone, like the Tour was.

OMGLadyGaga

Oct 25, 2011
Visit site
Verizon is a CDMA network which renders their phones useless in Europe which uses GSM (which you knew already).

You can import an unlocked GSM version for around $700 unsubsidized and use it on AT&T's hspa+ network which is what they call 4G. You can also use it on T-Mobile's network but possibly only on 3G (not too sure about this). You can use this phone in Europe. But you CANNOT use this unlocked phone on Verizon's network.

As iBowtoAndroid mentioned, if you want to stay on Verizon and use one of their phones overseas it has to be a world capable phone such as the Tour you had or most notably (and honestly recommended in your case) an iPhone 4S.

I too came from a Tour.

Ron Earp

Dec 20, 2011
Visit site
Thank you for the information and thanks for bearing with my improper use of terms and so on.