Backup before rooting

ivalum21

Mar 10, 2011
Visit site
I'm new to Android thus new to rooting. Is there a way to backup the factory settings/configuration before rooting so if I want to return it or need support help I can revert back?

kxs783kms

Dec 6, 2009
Visit site
A factory reset erases everything and restores it to the "first time out of the box experience." You'll always have that option in your settings menu, so you don't have to worry about backing up settings/configurations or anything like that. Now if you're taking about system apps, then no, you must have root to my understanding. First off, most of the backup apps only work if your phone is rooted. (There may be some that don't need root. IDK.) Secondly,you have to root the phone to be able to remove/customize things from the system so that you have something to back up. The only way to gain access to that system (since it's read only), is to root it and change it to write only. Now once you root it, you can immediately backup everything, then proceed with removing certain apps from the system. Now I would warn and caution you, that there is no custom recovery yet. So if you did mess something up to bad, your backup may not do you any good. There are certain apps that you cannot remove because it is tied into operating system and can really mess things up. I was waiting for someone to post a list of what apps were safe to remove before I started freezing or removing things. Some people like to freeze the apps, but I like to remove them and save them to my external sdcard in a created folder called Removed System Apps. Same result at the end of the day. Hope this helps.

Last edited:

ivalum21

Mar 10, 2011
Visit site
Thanks kxs!

So even with Android phones that have been out for a while and the dev community has had ample time to play around, there's really no going back from rooting?

kxs783kms

Dec 6, 2009
Visit site
Thanks kxs!