Why is my Phone not charging correctly?

Mar 2, 2017
Visit site
Phone: Galaxy S5 Duos

Model: G900-FD

Android Version: 5.0

I've been using my phone for 2 years and it's in very good condition but one day my phone was just charging quite slow. The normal charging current i got was 1200 mA but it dropped down to 300mA so i thought maybe it's the charger's fault so i brought a totally new one and for a week it got back to 1200mA but now it has dropped back to 300mA and it's been charging slow like this for almost 3 days.

I tried changing sockets but that didn't work either. So I'm hoping someone experienced can help me with it.

Mike Dee

Ambassador
May 14, 2014
Visit site
Could be any number of things but just as a shot in the dark if you have Facebook, try uninstalling as it was causing some drain and charging issues a couple of weeks ago. Could be the phones charging circuit or could be a bad battery also

LeoRex

Retired Moderator
Nov 21, 2012
Visit site
Keep in mind that batteries have a lifespan... they have a limited number of charge cycles in them and, at some point, will start to degrade. They will not be able to fully charge, take longer to get to that reduced charge, and that charge 'floor' (where the phone will turn off) will no longer be reliable.

Your phone is two years old now, so if that's the original battery, it might be due for replacement... that's a removeable cell, correct?

Mar 2, 2017
Visit site
Keep in mind that batteries have a lifespan... they have a limited number of charge cycles in them and, at some point, will start to degrade. They will not be able to fully charge, take longer to get to that reduced charge, and that charge 'floor' (where the phone will turn off) will no longer be reliable.

Your phone is two years old now, so if that's the original battery, it might be due for replacement... that's a removeable cell, correct?