Device won't recharge after being abandoned for a few months

anon(924308)

Aug 30, 2012
Visit site
I stopped using my N7 when I graduated a few months ago; I got a 5" phone so that helped too lol. When I tried to use it tonight, I found that as soon as I disconnect it from the USB charger, it immediately dies. i.e., the battery is permanently at 0% and will not recharge. I've tried different chargers, I've tried charging it from my laptop, I've restarted it numerous times, I did a soft reset, etc. It just won't charge, although it stays awake as long as it's plugged into something.

Is this a common issue (devices refusing to charge after being left to die)? Would yet another factory reset (already done this 2x for different issues) make the battery charge up again? Do you think the battery itself got messed up, or is it just a software glitch?

dancing-bass

Jan 3, 2011
Visit site
First of all (for next time) if you know you're going to store a Lithium Ion battery for long term, charge it or use it until the battery is around 50%. I have read numerous times that Li-On batteries prefer to be stored with about a 50% charge. No, not everyone knows this, but it's the reason why whenever you buy a new phone it's NEVER fully charged out of the box. Its always about 50% battery.

I would say your best hope for now is charge it for 24hrs without trying to use it or turn it on. Plug it in, and if it turns on by itself, turn it off. If you have to charge it via a USB port rather then using the wall charger, it may take longer. (USB ports only put out 0.5 amps, I believe the wall charger for the Nexus 7 puts out 2 amps).

In fact in this case, because the battery may have issues, it may be BETTER to charge via USB rather then using the wall charger. In any case, plug it in, make sure it's powered off, and leave it alone for 24hrs. Then power it up and unplug it. See what happens then

Good luck

jd914

Banned
Feb 3, 2010
Visit site