Question Double tap functionality difference in browser on different devices

lennie054

Feb 3, 2024
Visit site
Hi all, I have got a question about the double tap functionality in browsers on android. As a event network engineer I used to haul around a laptop on sites as big as several football fields to configure and test switches and other equipment. Since I can do the same with my phone, a few apps and a ethernet or serial adapter this saves me a lot of carrying around. I primarily use an ssh/terminal app which works great. But for some switches its sometimes easier and quicker to use a browser. Now to my point; Using Firefox on a galaxy tab s7fe, I can double tap on items to edit them. A popup screen appears, and I can edit the parameters. This works as expected. But doing the same on a galaxy s23 ultra phone it just zooms in and out on the page. So I am unable to edit any parameters. It does this on all browsers I tried on the s23u, so it seems to be something to do with android. Both devices have ui6.0 installed and firefox is up to date on both devices. Is this a limitation or a setting somewhere? Anyone know why there is a difference in behavior and maybe how to get this working on a s23? Would be really nice to get this to work. Tablet is lighter than my laptop, but still doesn't fit in my pocket.

B. Diddy

Senior Ambassador
Mar 9, 2012
Visit site
Welcome to Android Central! This may not do anything, but try using the Desktop Site option in the browser menu on the phone, since that would be one of the main differences between the phone and the tablet -- the latter's user agent would default to showing the desktop site, while the phone shows the mobile version.

lennie054

Feb 3, 2024
Visit site