My frustrations so far...

ecopac

May 13, 2013
Visit site
Hi all

I am a newbie to Android (in the sense that I have never had an Android device more than a few days), as an Apple fanboy I always seem to have this issue of comparing Android devices to the iPhone and then always end up reverting back to the iPhone. Anyway, I have decided once again to venture into the Android world as the HTC One looked too good to miss.

So I've had the phone 3 days, it's unlocked/sim free but running it on Orange (EE) in the UK.

First impressions are good, but there are a few things that are niggling at me, and I'm starting to wonder if I should have gone for the Galaxy S4.

Here's my problems, any solutions would be most welcome:

1. The lack of a physical button on the front means I have to hit the power button at the top of the phone to get the screen on to unlock it.
2. The stock internet browser is driving me crazy. It fills the screen and there's no URL bar at the top to type in new addresses, I have to swipe in from the left/right to get my bookmarks up, or catch the url bar really quickly when a page is loading. I've checked the settings, I haven't got the option ticked to fill the screen so I don't know why it's doing this, but it's so frustrating! Even a Home button on the browser would help, but there's literally nothing! On the iPhone you have the URL bar at the top and a small Google search option next to it which works perfectly for me.
3. On the S4, I really like the way you can swipe left/right on a contact in the call list to message/call, and I also like when you pull down the top menu it has all the Wifi etc controls on there - is this just a Samsung thing or is there a way to get this on the HTC without adding a widget to the main screen?
4. The colour theme in Messaging is insanely boring, the S4 has the green/black which adds a bit of character, the HTC is just grey and white.