Want to root, but very wary

Droid800

Banned
Mar 31, 2010
Visit site
Alright, so I'm a longtime Android user. I've owned a Droid, Nexus One, Droid X, MyTouch 4G, Sensation, G2X, GS4G, Nexus S, Thunderbolt, and Evo. I've rooted many of them, and gotten comfortable with it. (even got comfortable with the command-line Terminal rooting required for the Nexus One.)

But I'm wary of rooting the Charge. I have zero experience with Odin, and the style of rooting is very different for me. (flashing a rooted ROM instead of rooting stock) I got used to the one-click style rooting, etc., so the Charge rooting method seems foreign to me. I've seen the occasional 'Charge rooting for dummies' tutorials, but I was wondering if anyone could link me to a really good one. I want to root, and like the ROMs I've seen thus far, but not quite comfortable enough to do it yet.

Halo

May 27, 2011
Visit site
Dude... the only Android phone I've ever owned was my OG Droid. I had that for a little less than a year before I purchased my Charge. ZERO experience with ODIN and the Samsung way of life. Click on the link in my signature. It's virtually impossible to screw it up. There is so much info on this site and so many members that have a vast knowledge of all this. Worse case scenario: If you screw your phone up, someone here has already done it and there's a fix for it. Bottom line.

Bleeds

Jun 5, 2011
Visit site
Hey man,

I just got my Charge on Wednesday after being an iPhone user for four years. I had my phone rooted and flashed within 16 hours of purchasing the thing, and most of the delay was due to having to sleep :).

I didn't have experience with the Samsung method, but I had jailbroken my iPhone using nearly every method imaginable. The process itself isn't hard (it never is) provided you exercise due diligence in your research. Don't be scared, but don't ever perform an action without being certain of the consequences.