[How-to] Root Droid Charge**5/19/11**[Windows & Mac] Now with GingerSnap!

onilosmada

Jun 9, 2011
Visit site
use this - link

then update to EE4 (if ED2 update doesn't show up b4 EE4 does, that's OK)

then install this - you will have root - link

then install this - link

steps can be found in each post, also it helps to clear cache after downgrade to ED1 before you install EE4 update (before boot, cause after downgrade to ED1, your phone will boot in to CWM)

proof that EE4 works with AB 4.1.1 - post

I can confirm that this method works. I have not yet updated to AB 4.1.1. muzhik, In the guide you provided you have the step to install CWM recovery. I am confused, AB 4.0 includes CWM and voodoo lagfix. Is this step necessary? Also, can you be more clear on how to install the AB 4.1.1 patch? The AB thread did not seem very informative. Although I did not dig through the thread much for a guide.
Thanks again for the guide!

P.S. This is my first time rooting a phone so excuse my ignorance.

hsomnus

Jun 13, 2011
Visit site
[WARN]Gingersnap (along with all other Android modifications) is experimental software and while I have made this as safe as possible, differences in operating environments and natural disasters can cause your device to become unusable. Please make sure you understand this important fact before downloading.

Disclaimer: Neither myself, Android Central or any other member of Android Central are responsible for any disasters that occur as a result of any hack or modification you perform on your device. Your use of this application is at your own risk![/WARN]

With that out of the way, I'd like to introduce you to the Gingersnap Root Utility. Gingersnap is a one-click root utility, much like SuperOneClick or Universal Androot.

The nitty gritty: Gingersnap uses a modified version of the famous GingerBreak exploit to automatically root your Android-powered device and installs the necessary files to maintain a permanent root status.