What are the advantages to having a closer to stock android handset?

Paisley

Aug 3, 2013
Visit site
i'm new to android, don't even have it yet, but the moto x supposed to be 90% pure android, or whatever things people say about it being "close to vanilla". Are there any advantages to that for a person who is not a tinkerer? I will use launcher type things but generally won't be doing developer stuff. What might be some advantages to having a closer to stock android?

Golfdriver97

Trusted Member Team Leader
Dec 4, 2012
Visit site
i'm new to android, don't even have it yet, but the moto x supposed to be 90% pure android, or whatever things people say about it being "close to vanilla". Are there any advantages to that for a person who is not a tinkerer? I will use launcher type things but generally won't be doing developer stuff. What might be some advantages to having a closer to stock android?

Launchers like Sense (HTC) or TouchWiz (Samsung) have a tendency to slow down the whole OS. Especially with Samsung's and the extra features. With Android as plain as it can get, that is typically more room on storage and a faster, smoother UI.

Sent from a SlimROM S3.

gone down south

Jul 24, 2012
Visit site
Manufacturer's overlays like Sense and Touchwiz add all sorts of functionality that some people love and some hate. Definitely slows things down a bit, but there are many cool features added.

Tinkerers love pure Android because nothing is locked down and there's no bloatware.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using AC Forums mobile app

Paisley

Aug 3, 2013
Visit site
Manufacturer's overlays like Sense and Touchwiz add all sorts of functionality that some people love and some hate. Definitely slows things down a bit, but there are many cool features added.

Tinkerers love pure Android because nothing is locked down and there's no bloatware.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using AC Forums mobile app

Will i be able to add pieces of functionality to things? if so, like what, and how?