As a professional, is a Pixelbook the right choice?

Byrese

Feb 4, 2016
Visit site
I'm a professional in the education and religious arena and I'm looking into Chromebooks.I'm pretty adept tech wise and know what I'm getting myself into hardware and OS wise.

Most of what I do is word processing (Word or Docs), signing docs, taking notes, as well as other programs via Chrome. A good keyboard is therefore REALLY important to me though I think I'll miss the true tablet form factor, as I've been using a Surface Pro 4 for the last several years. I've seen the HP Chromebook x2 but have my concerns about the typing experience and movement during laptop mode.

Is this good choice or would something like a Samsung Chromebook Pro be better?

Nauga

Nov 9, 2017
Visit site
Depends on the kind of word processing you do. I'm in education as well, but I'm still tied to PCs because I need frequent access to Adobe CC. I also force technical writing students to do a lot of formatting in Word docs, and online options like Google Docs and Office 365 still seem limited & unfinished compared to a local installation of MS Office.

I've never used a Surface Pro, but the Pixelbook's keyboard is one of its best features as long as you're comfortable with the form factor of (for me) a small laptop. I'd hesitate to call any chromebook a good replacement for a Surface Pro because much of what happens on a chromebook still has to default to what can happen in a browser window, Android apps or no Android apps.

Since you already work a lot in Chrome, though, it sounds like you're a perfect candidate for at least trying a highend chromebook. The new HP Chromebook may be your best bet if you really like to work in tablet mode.

Byrese

Feb 4, 2016
Visit site