[Guide] How-to root Evo 4G gingerbread! via Revolutionary

mottern

Aug 11, 2011
Visit site
You're welcome. With so many questions coming at once it most got lost in the thread. Well, to me anyways :p
I just posted the question once on here but I tried other forums, but I understand that you guys have a bunch of question coming at once, guess I was a little impatient.Thanks again.

Moose24

Aug 4, 2010
Visit site
Ok, I have rooted using the instructions and all went perfect. Now, I have a few questions. It says s-off and I have the superuser app installed and the cwm installed. First, what exactly does the superuser app do? Second, how do I move apps to sd card that wouldn't before rooting? Third, how do I uninstall bloatware apps? I don't see where it changed the option to do any of that. I did not flash any roms, wanted to leave phone as is, exept rooting it. If I need to, guess I will. I am new to this, so any help, will be greatly appreciated. Thanks

igotsanevo4g

Retired Moderator
Jul 31, 2010
Visit site
Superuser app limits what can access all parts of the phone now thats youre rooted, protecting you from anything you didnt give permission too.

Move apps to the SD card by using the A2SD scripts, or flash a new rom

Bloat ware=system apps. With root explorer, you can access the system/app partition and delete whatever the heck ya want!

SmokeCrawler

Jul 23, 2010
Visit site
Also, when using root explorer (or any other file manager that goes into the system) that you have r/w (read/write) enable. By default it's r/o (read/only). That can save some frustration. ;)

Reactions: igotsanevo4g

SmokeCrawler

Jul 23, 2010
Visit site
After rooting my phone to get my MSL. I unrooted. But S-OFF remains. Is there a way to return to S-ON?

You used Revolutionary to gain s-off? Did you run the 4.24 RUU to unroot?

Sorry for asking but I'm just curious if their S-OFF is like Unrevoked Forever as you need their S-on tool to get it back.