How is typing on the Hero? Performance?

candacer

May 18, 2010
Visit site
I know this is probably an annoying post, but I really wanted to hear from current Hero users in order to help make my decision.

I upgraded to a blackberry 8530 because my 8330 worked very well for what I needed (messaging, light web use, GPS) almost 30 days ago, but I can't get the Hero out of my mind. I got the 8530 for a ridiculously cheap price of 30 bucks due to a best buy error and money is definitely a concern, but I dream of the web experience on the Hero. I have no experience with touch screens and despite it feeling cramped sometimes, I type very fast on the physical QWERTY keyboard of the blackberry and as a writer, I'm often writing notes on my blackberry so ease of typing is a must. So for owners, I ask this...

How is typing on the Hero? Do you really get used to it?

How's the response time? I've read about lagging and realistically, the device seems to only have a little more memory than my curve and yet it's expected to do so much more.

Advice?

ksoze

May 6, 2010
Visit site
I came from the Pre, and the 8330 before that... I use swype. Will never have a phone without Swype again. Period.

Stock responds pretty well. Its a learning curve as are all touch keyboards. Finger placements are always off (based on vision) but the stock autocorrect is probably the better ones I have used.

Once again, swype keyboard. Nothing better.

beezy

Feb 27, 2010
Visit site
I know this is probably an annoying post, but I really wanted to hear from current Hero users in order to help make my decision.