Will non-flagship phones be receiving Android Lollipop (5.0) OTA?

DroidTechSki

Nov 30, 2014
Visit site
Ok, so the last phone I purchased was a Samsung Galaxy Ring (Stock Android 4.2.1). I had been using the phone for two years (I rooted it, of course.) and I realized that the android version was so old that I was outdated of everything after the year of owning it. (The phone was slow and buggy before rooting it and I hated it completely and felt that I needed to upgrade.) I was 13 at the time, and I desperately needed an android phone. (I make my own money and pay my own bills - tough but I get by.) So I saved up money. Now I am 15 and I went phone shopping. (The old phone had to be force reset - for the 10th time.) I picked up something from Metropcs - An Alcatel Fierce 2 with Stock Android 4.4.2! Awesome - an up-to-date phone. (I knew about 4.4.4 but it's close enough.) But then - I saw a news article about the new Android 5.0. I asked the guy I bought the phone from at Metro if they do OTA updates for it. He said they might but they would get it a few weeks after launch. Now I'm hearing it will only come to a few flagship phones and has already arrived for Nexus devices and Moto G and Moto X. I really want this update!

Will non-flagship phones (such as Metro PCS Alcatel Fierce 2) be receiving Android 5.0 over the air?

And if not, is it possible to install it without losing data and having to setup the whole phone again? (I have a sim card with this one. And I could back it up - HOWEVER I haven't rooted it yet, I plan to. I have a micro-sd of 32gb.)

****I AM FULLY AWARE THAT LOLLIPOP IS NOT OUT YET FOR DEVICES - BUT I AM ASKING THOSE WHO HAVE LOLLIPOP OR A NEXUS IF ANDROID LOLLIPOP CAN BE FLASHED ON OTHER DEVICES ONCE LAUNCHED OR IF IT CAN BE OTA. Android listed T-Mobile to be receiving the update - HOWEVER I am on MetroPCS but T-Mobile owns Metro.***

[edited by Moderator]