[?]About flashing .zips

Alvis

Feb 27, 2011
Visit site
So if Google apps is a flashable .zip and it does contain .apk's then what if I had a bunch of apps downloaded and in a. .zip and flashed them, I know it won't have the meta-inf folder but its just something I've been wondering.

drewwalton19216801

Dec 27, 2010
Visit site
So if Google apps is a flashable .zip and it does contain .apk's then what if I had a bunch of apps downloaded and in a. .zip and flashed them, I know it won't have the meta-inf folder but its just something I've been wondering.

Yeah not gonna work as Mr. Devere stated. The script inside the META-INF folder tells the ZIP flash process what files go where. If you have a ZIP file with no META-INF folder it will "laugh in your face."

Alvis

Feb 27, 2011
Visit site
Thanks for the advice I figured I'd get flamed..... but I'm a noob so I deserve it I guess lol but my curiosity exceeds me, is creating that folder with those scripts rocket science?

picasticks

Feb 28, 2011
Visit site
Thanks for the advice I figured I'd get flamed..... but I'm a noob so I deserve it I guess lol but my curiosity exceeds me, is creating that folder with those scripts rocket science?
Pick your favorite ROM, unzip it and look at the update-script, it's just a text file. (META-INF/com/google/android/update-script or something like it ... not near any Android stuff atm). Then you can judge for yourself how complicated it is.

It's not rocket science but it does take a little while to learn.

If you were going to create a flashable zip, you only create the update-script manually. All the other stuff in META-INF is generated automatically when you sign the zip file.

If your goal is just to take a few apks and install them into /system/app, there are a lot of easier ways to do that than creating a flashable zip. i.e. use adb, or just copy the files into /system/app. i.e.

mount -o remount,rw /dev/block/mtdblock5 /system
cp /sdcard/file.apk /system/app/