Just played with a friend's zoom

qnet

Jan 21, 2011
Visit site
As an IT professional, I can tell you this is NOT nonsense. Over the course of time, applications/programs (be they on a computer or a tablet or a phone) will close and NOT properly relinquish the memory allocated to them by the OS. This happens for various reasons, most commonly because of a fault in the application/program or an error in the handling of the process by the OS. I am a database admin and when I have been building or testing big databases I occasionally get a crash which causes my computer to not only run slower but to start producing errors due to compromised memory allocation. A quick reboot fixes the problem and gives me a clean slate. When people call me about their computer suddenly running slower (especially with databases running), the first thing I tell them is to reboot and presto, assuming they have not gotten a malware infection, they are good to go again.

Again, the IPad is handling much less memory allocation than the Xoom, apparently that makes it run oh so smoothly and never needs to be turned off... but I am more impressed by the Xoom being able to do all the things it does even if that has a "possible" cost of needing an occasional restart. If you try to sell me a computer that never needs a restart, but it doesn't have a desktop and only runs selected apps that never push the system... I'll pass and get one that can, even knowing that it may need more attention to keep it running in top form. OOOH, it's so pretty, does not get my job done.

I'm an I.T. professional also and, I don't agree with you entirely. I was going to stay out of this until I read your post. No offense.

I know nothing about databases and, I don't doubt that you may have to restart your computer sometime to get it working correctly. My background is networking and computer repair and, I build my own servers and pc's.