Safe to root?

htrannn

Feb 7, 2013
Visit site
I'm just wondering if anyone thinks its safe to root without researching too much. I don't plan on rooting then flashing ROMS and messing with settings right away. Just a learn as I go experience but I want the rooting part over and done with. I've jailbroken iPods before and I've got some basic knowledge of what I'm doing and I found a good tutorial on youtube as well.

How to root Galaxy S3 I747M AT&T and Canadian Carriers - YouTube

meyerweb#CB

Banned
Sep 4, 2009
Visit site
If you're careful, make sure you follow instructions for your EXACT model of phone and carrier, and follow those instructions precisely, then yes.

But understand that even though they all say Galaxy S3, each carrier's version is different, and trying to use the process for rooting one version on another can ruin your phone. So can not following instructions precisely.

If the video you linked to is, for example, for an AT&T GS3, and you use them on a Sprint GS3, the best you can hope for is that it doesn't ruin your phone.

Other than "wanting to get it over with" why do you want to root.

Sent from my Sprint Galaxy S3. Please forgive any typos or auto-correct errors.

htrannn

Feb 7, 2013
Visit site
I just like the idea of having more control over my phone and I'll be looking into flashing ROMS and improving functionality after rooting. Also how could it ruin my phone? I looked around in some other threads and I saw a Sprint root used on a T-Mobile phone, and I haven't seen too much specification on carriers on other websites.

This is my model of phone btw, SGH-1747M. Only difference would be the carrier but even then it says its for AT&T + Canadian carriers. What I wanna know is is there different types of root? Are some better than others like with jailbreak software? Or in the end does it not matter and they all do the same thing?

meyerweb#CB

Banned
Sep 4, 2009
Visit site