Oculus Go vs. Gear VR

krisguy

VR Expert
Sep 29, 2010
Visit site
I'm hoping this thread can be used as a kind of documentation for the Go/Gear VR information campaign.

I'm starting this to let people know that the SDK for Gear VR is the same SDK for Go, at it's core. As I'm not a developer, I haven't played around with it much, but it looks like there's little to no work to make sure apps on Gear VR now work with Go.

As a Gear VR user, I would only buy this for my kids, as I don't want them to have 700+ dollar phones yet. At 199USD, this would be a great option for my 12 year old.

Rob Phillips

Feb 5, 2011
Visit site
If Oculus Go will do VR better than my Merge/iPhone X combo I’m going to have to seriously consider buying. Either that or I need to win the PSVR contest.

pkcable

Q&A Team Leader, VR Expert
Ambassador
Jun 8, 2010
Visit site
As a Gear VR user, I would only buy this for my kids, as I don't want them to have 700+ dollar phones yet. At 199USD, this would be a great option for my 12 year old

I would say the Go is a great option for the casual VR user who wants a bit more than cardboard, and for those who don't have the correct phone for GearVR OR Google Daydream.

tech_fan

Sep 1, 2012
Visit site
Some observations after using the Go for about 5 days:

I use my Gear VR everyday and when I heard about the Oculus Go being released, I was super excited. Then I heard about the Lenovo Mirage Solo. In the end, I kept the Oculus Go and returned the Mirage Solo. I could not rationalize paying another $200 for the 6dof and the display was more inferior (way too much chromatic aberation which sort of went away with fitment issues).