Please recommend a few ICS compatible apps

Tony Android

Jul 27, 2012
Visit site
I've had my Galaxy SII Epic 4G Touch for about a month. Running latest ICS version FH13, not rooted. I will root after the warranty is up, but for now I don't want to take a chance on bricking a new $435 phone.

This is my first smartphone, so I have no experience with third party Android apps. I have only one third party app installed so far, and that is Kindle for Android.

I hate ads and spyware, so when available, paid apps look like the best choice for me. However I don't want any apps with monthly rental (such as Lookout Security & Antivirus Premium), I want a one time purchase payment only.

I've spent a lot of time browsing Google Play and reading reviews, and it seems that ICS broke quite a few apps. So I am looking for apps that are known to run well on ICS. Also important to me, is that the apps be from respected developers, who won't pillage my address book and spam all my contacts. Some of the permissions granted, even for popular apps, seems rather excessive.

Lost / stolen phone app:
Where's My Droid, or Android Lost, or something else?

Back up (I'm not rooted so no Titanium Backup) :
My Back Up Pro, or AppMonster Pro Backup Restore, or something else?

Flashlight:
TeslaLED Flashlight, or Tiny Flashlight + LED, or something else?
There are almost too many to choose from, I want one that preferably has low / high, works on my device, and has reasonable permissions. A pay version is fine.

Barcode scanner:
Same problem as flashlight ? too many to choose from. I want one that works, isn't buggy, and respects my privacy. A pay version would be fine.

Uglyfido

Mar 24, 2012
Visit site