Rooting, flashing, s-off etc. What are they?

Mingneh

Oct 6, 2011
Visit site
Hi community!

I have been using my HTC sensation for two months now. I was adviced to root my phone for better performance, be it speed or battery life. Naturally i am very attracted to the idea, however it is a very tedious process for me, more so when i have no idea what all those terms mean. I'm posting this hoping someone could help.

1) What is rooting and how is the process like?
2) How do i 'flash' a ROM into my phone? What are ROMs?
3) I was adviced to flash revolution HD, is it good?
4) What is S-off and how do i do it?
5) If any, what's the process flow of rooting?

I sincerely hope i can find a solution from the forum, and i apologize for being so inquisitive about this questions for they appear pretty basic.

devgru82

Jan 31, 2011
Visit site
Hi community!

I have been using my HTC sensation for two months now. I was adviced to root my phone for better performance, be it speed or battery life. Naturally i am very attracted to the idea, however it is a very tedious process for me, more so when i have no idea what all those terms mean. I'm posting this hoping someone could help.

1) What is rooting and how is the process like?
2) How do i 'flash' a ROM into my phone? What are ROMs?
3) I was adviced to flash revolution HD, is it good?
4) What is S-off and how do i do it?
5) If any, what's the process flow of rooting?

I sincerely hope i can find a solution from the forum, and i apologize for being so inquisitive about this questions for they appear pretty basic.

Its not as daunting as it seems
What is rooting: http://www.androidcentral.com/rooting-it-me-some-qa

All the answers to your questions: [Guide] to Installing S-off, Unlocking, ClockWork, Root, SuperCID & S-on - xda-developers
Yes ARHD is a very good ROM. They even have a 4.0 ROM working:[ROM] Android Revolution HD? 5.0.2 XE | ICS | Sense 3.5 | High Quality & Performance - xda-developers