Newbie Here...iPhone transplant

gtek81

Feb 5, 2012
Visit site
Whats up everyone! I have had the iPhone since it came out and I decided to try the Skyrocket. Im really glad I did bc I really like this phone and I dont really miss my iPhone. Is there anything I should know about the android OS? Im a noob and Im still learning about the phone. I have a few questions like how to I put music on my phone? How do I back it up? Can I put my apps on the home pages? Are there any apps that I need for the phone? Thanks!

pinebob

Feb 6, 2012
Visit site
Welcome fellow newbie! I got my Skyrocket in January. It's my first smartphone. So far, I find the simple tasks such as composing a text or placing a phone call to be the more frustrating b/c they were so easy to do on my previous Samsung "dumb" phone. Hopefully, it's just a matter of learning a new phone.

But I also have a couple of questions for the more experienced users out there.

#1: How do you forward a text message? If a message "fails" to send, I'd like to be able to just resend it rather than retype the whole thing, but I can't see where I have that option. Is there a way to do that?

#2: My Skyrocket tends to get uncomfortably hot on my ear when I'm using it as a phone. It also gets really hot when I have it in my pocket. I was thinking of reporting this to AT&T, but I haven't had the phone that long so wanted to see if this was typical.

Cory Streater

Sep 21, 2009
Visit site
Welcome!

My favorite app for music syncing is iSyncr.

For file transfer in general I LOVE Wi-Fi Explorer.

You can't backup the ENTIRE phone unless you have rooted your phone.

In the meantime:

Gmail will automatically backup your contacts, calendar, email, and anything else you've checked in the accounts and settings screen for your Gmail account.

Any apps you've purchased will always be available to you in the Market. The key is that you always sign in to the same account.