Question Trying to install custom rom for LG Optimus One V

XGamer

Dec 16, 2023
Visit site
I have a few questions regarding me upgrading my old LG Optimus One V.

This is my first time doing this, so some of this might sound dumb to you guys.

Frist of all, I have heard mixed info on this subject, but can I install Any custom rom for android or just ones close to what I have. Obviously you cant put android 13 on such a old phone, but how high can I go?

Secondly I should put out the fact that this phone is so old it wont connect to the internet.

This is a quite the problem because this phone chased some time ago and it lost its file manger.

So I have no "easy way" to root or install the new Rom.

I found a program Kingo ROOT and managed to root my phone, but then when trying to use ADB and Fastboot to install teamWin TWRP I get to the fastboot screen on my phone but then it says stall get descriptor suspend.

I can get back into my phone by taking out the battery and rebooting, so I don't think I "Soft bricked" It.
Could someone answer these questions and/or take me through the process?
Thanks if you can.

Last edited:

Mooncatt

Ambassador
Feb 23, 2011
Visit site
I hate to be the bearer of bad news, but I seriously don't think it's worth going down this road. For one, that phone was released over 10 years ago, and was only a low spec entry level phone to boot. I had the S variant for Sprint, and it was ok for its time and intended use, but you're unlikely be able to go more than one OS version higher than it currently has. That is still going to be ancient by phone standards, slow in use, and prone to who knows how many security threats. There's no way it'd be able to run anything remotely new enough to be considered secure.