Wifi calling

Rumblee1

Trusted Member
Nov 3, 2012
Visit site
My v30 arrived with wifi calling enabled. I thought this was a good thing. But the first time I received a call, you couldn't hear the conversation between us at all. I finally disabled it and my calls went over clear as a bell. I'm wondering why this was, and is it normal for this to happen? I've never used wifi calling before. I was connected to my xfinity home wifi. Although xfinity does suck at times, shouldn't my calls have been clear?

jasqid

Jul 10, 2017
Visit site
If your wifi sucks, no. The call will only be as good as the quality of the connection.

I only use wifi calling when I have crap or no cell service and I can access a wifi spot.

LuvMusic

Aug 3, 2013
Visit site
I have Xfininty also and the quality of my wifi calls is fine, however, I am NOT using the Comcast gateway as my wifi router.

I have found the wifi distance (how far away from the gateway you can get and how fast the signal degrades as you move away from it) is not very good. For example, I have a PC in the basement and my Xfinity gateway is on the first floor, not an ideal setup for any router/gateway. With the Xfinity gateway I get 2 bars of flaky signal in my basement. With my Linksys WRT1900AC I get 5 bars of solid wifi.

If you are using Comcast's stock gear, you may want to consider a wifi router upgrade.

Also, are you having any other wifi issues? If you are, you may want to have Comcast come out and look at your network. I recently had a signal amplifier / splitter fail and as it was failing, it brought my whole network "down to it's knees."

One other thing to try is rebooting your wifi network. Power cycle the gateway and see if that helps.

Hope this helps!

Rukbat

Retired Moderator
Feb 12, 2012
Visit site