Device upgrade! Help!!

anon(818769)

Jun 14, 2012
Visit site
I'm on verizon and it's time for my upgrade. I was set on getting the new razr maxx hd until I saw that my total cost was going to be $350! I'm a sophomore in college and that's kinda crazy. So I did some looking around and saw that I could get the original razr maxx through best buy for free. I'm currently on the droid bionic. What do you guys think? Would the razr maxx be a worthy upgrade, or should I splurge for the maxx hd? I think I'd be alright with the maxx, it would just be too bad if there won't be much development or updates in its future. Thanks!

TheLibertarian

Sep 3, 2012
Visit site
Is battery life literally the absolute most desired specification? Or are there other qualities you appreciate from Motorola devices? Because the standard RAZR HD still as a 2500+ mAh battery, which is larger than most every smartphone and only really dwarfed in size by the Note II and the Maxx.

Personally I'd recommend the RAZR HD over the standard Maxx, and it's $100 cheaper than the Maxx HD.

Sidenote: You mentioned the RAZR HD Maxx was $349, though I thought it $299 and the standard RAZR HD $199. I could be mistaken.

B. Diddy

Senior Ambassador
Mar 9, 2012
Visit site
I love my Maxx, and free is the best price you'll find. The Maxx HD certainly has a great looking screen, but the original Maxx's screen is nothing to sneeze at. The battery life simply rocks. Motoblur, Motorola's Android skin, is pretty light, so it's less likely to get bogged down by lots of bells and whistles you might see with other manufacturers' skins.

As for updates, an official Jellybean update will probably arrive some time in the 1st quarter of 2013, but as you might be able to tell from this forum, a bunch of people got an unofficial update that was accidentally released into the wild, which has been getting mostly positive reviews. Doubtful that it will get any other updates beyond Android 4.1.2, but we can always hope.

paul-c