Bought my first N10, and gave up after multiple returns suffering from bad light bleeding.

Anoles

Jun 11, 2013
Visit site
Finally decided to give the N10 a try after hearing so many good things, and after reading a mountain of gleaming reviews. I love Android, and I've been using Android phones for roughly 4+ years now. I got my N10 at Staples, and my overall assessment is that I really like it. It's responsive, fast, easy, and I love the look and feel. The one thing that ended up ruining it for me was the infamous light bleeding. I've heard it's particularly bad on some N10s, but I figured, "It's too common on large IPS displays and such. I can live with some bleeding." Well, it wasn't a little. It was drive-me-nuts obvious. I took the 1st unit back and exchanged. The 2nd unit was even worse. I tried exchanging today, but they were actually all sold out. I opted for a refund, and now I'm playing the fun waiting game of said refund processing.

My question is: is there anything I can do to minimize this and get a new N10? Is there a way for these stores to check the manufacture date of a unit so I can opt for a very new build? Are some stores fairing better than others? I've seen dozens of displays, from every HTC phone I've had, to the many iPads at my office, and light bleeding like this doesn't seem to be so prevalent on other tablets/devices. It's a shame that an otherwise promising device has to suffer due to a problem that some basic QC could remedy.

Anoles

Jun 11, 2013
Visit site
Sorry to hear about your bad experience with this device. If you want a recently manufactured model, probably buying directly from Google would be a good choice.
https://forums.androidcentral.com/e...t=true&feature=microsite&hl=en&token=gg4oIoaI