Battery draining after Google play services update

gaboon13

Jun 23, 2016
Visit site
Hi guys,
Newbie here. I've got an old Samsung Ace 2 running gingerbread.dolk1.
3 days ago Google play services updated itself to latest version 9.2.56. Since then my ever reliable phone has been draining battery too fast. It also seems bit warm on standby which wasn't the case before. I've looked into battery stats and Google play services is at the top consuming most of the battery.
Is there any option to uninstall the update?
When i try to uninstall Google play services entirely it says "uninstall not successful"
Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.

AndroidAgony

Jun 27, 2016
Visit site
Not sure why it wont allow you to uninstall. I'm having the same problem with the 9.2.56 bug, temporarily fixed by installing an older Google Play Services apk, but not much use for you if you're unable to uninstall the newest one first. Has dpham00's suggestion helped? Hope so.

alviniscute

Jun 30, 2016
Visit site
I have the same issue. I removed the cache and I also cleared the data. My phone has been messed up since June 27 and I have also done a factory reset, all with no luck.

Does anyone have any fix for this? I would love to get an older version apk file if that's known to fix it, I certainly don't want to buy a new phone!

CommunicateWell

Jul 6, 2016
Visit site
I just did an online chat with Google Play Help Center. My interpretation of the conversation is that Google needs to receive LOTS of complaints about this current problem so that they'll take notice and do something about it. So, I've outlined below the steps to take in order to file a complaint. It was EASY PEASY to file the complaint.