nexus 7 wont connect to public wifi... please help?!

lyndseyatthegates

Jan 14, 2013
Visit site
Hello, i am pretty new to all this stuff but i have searched and searched for an answer to try and sort my problem and had no luck.
So im hoping someone here may be able to shed some light!

I had a Nexus 7 for christmas, and for some reason unknown to me it isnt connecting to any public wifi, primarily i got it so i can use it at school and in my studio, but at both of these places it wont let me connect, and the passwords have been entered correctly. Several times! Ive tried disconnecting, restarting my tablet, forgetting and re putting in the passwords and it still comes up with Authentication Problem after a long try at connecting and authenticating...

Am i doing something wrong or is it a fault with the tablet?

All the answers and forums i have found have all referred to router setup and restarts, but i cannot adjust any of this as it is public.

Any help would be so very appreciated! :)

Also i have a samsung s2 which connects instantly to all these places with no problem, and the only place i can pick up wifi with my N7 is at home, which after many resets and rebooting my router it finally connected and continues to work well.

shona001

Sep 12, 2012
Visit site
I had the same problem, I installed Wi-Fi fixer from the play store, and someone else told me that it was Chrome that was the problem and using Dolphin Browser instead would fix it so I installed that as well and now I can connect to any open network easily.

I don't know if it's the wifi fixer or the dolphin browser that has cured the problem but I'm not going to mess about with it now it's working.

balus3u

Sep 23, 2012
Visit site
mine was stuck at 'getting ip address ' and I removed the network , searched for it again and in the advanced setting used static ip and filed those values and now it connects instantly

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Android Central Forums

mathelm

Oct 18, 2012
Visit site