Possible solution to battery issue!!!

What is your Display Usage at?

• Total voters

cheebahawk1

May 28, 2010
Visit site
Some of you may know that I was one of the Evo owners who was having horrendous battery issues. I could barely get to lunch time without the battery being drained to 30-40%.

Well today I went 13hrs without having to charge (and probably could have gone longer if I wasnt checking battery levels, taking screen shots, etc) and I think I finally stumbled onto a solution.

Before I get into a detailed discussion, I want to make a disclaimer: I am not that tech savvy (although not a complete idiot, I do not know alot about rooting, etc) so my observations and theory is on a rudimentary level.

With that being said, I think the issue is two fold with the Evo battery and battery meter (for those that are having issues with battery drainage):

1) the battery meter does not read correctly. Members have indicated that when the battery gets down to last 30%, it is REALLY hard to kill the battery. So I think there is an issue with how the Evo reads the battery.

Which brings me to the second issue which I think is the BIGGEST problem:

2) If you go into battery usage via the Evo menu (settings > About phone> battery info > battery usage) for those that are having battery issues, Im pretty sure your Evo is reporting display usage at about 15-20%. I've found that this is a SIGNIFICANT DRAIN (look at the pictures below) on the battery. ** Thanks for AldousSnow for pointing this issue out.***** I would like for those with good battery life to check this also. As they will report the display usage is around 3-9%.

To remedy the battery issue I would recommend the following: