I cannot access safe mode for factory reset. Help?

rikelek

May 25, 2014
Visit site
Hello!

I have a Sony Ericsson Play that I've been using for 2,5 years without issues, until two weeks ago.

It got slower and slower to start up the screen when something happened (someone calling, me pressing the home button etc.) until the point when I'd not be able to answer the call because the screen would not activate in time.

After one of several reboots, it would no longer start. When I hold down the power button, it would shortly vibrate as usual to confirm that it is starting to boot up but after that nothing more happens. Trying to shut off/start up the phone after this point yields no results, only by pulling the battery and trying to start again can I get it to react again, although just the same thing happens. Short vibration then nothing more.

I have tried safe mode, of course, but it doesn't react to that either.
If I connect the phone to the computer as it is booting up, I hear the computer making the sound for connecting and disconnecting a USB device over and over in intervals of maybe 15-20 seconds.

It seems as if the phone is stuck in some kind of rebooting loop, but even before it reaches the point where safe mode can be accessed for a factory reset.

TL;DR version:
Phone shows no sign of life except vibrating when power button is held, after that it seems to get stuck trying to boot without ever even activating the screen. Does not react to safe mode.
Charge lights work and the computer recognizes the device, but the phone gets disconnected and connected over and over again as it tries to boot.

I've looked around quite a bit and not found anyone else with a similar problem and was hoping you could help me.
Thanks in advance!

Last edited by a moderator:

B. Diddy

Senior Ambassador
Mar 9, 2012
Visit site
Re: Cannot access safe mode for factory reset