Resetting/deleting contacts?

charleskoz

Oct 24, 2014
Visit site
Hi there,

Bit of a newbie question. I'm new to Samsung phones (and smartphones in general). Somehow I have managed to get 225 contacts in my phone, most of which have no relevance to me. I think they were automatically imported by Google and/or Facebook.

I no longer even have Facebook on the phone but I still see Facebook people there. I turned off contact syncing for my Google accounts but they are still there too.

I can't figure out how to delete these. When I go into the contact app, it only shows me 20 or so of them, but if I do a search it still shows 200+ contacts. Help? :)

Thanks.

charleskoz

Oct 24, 2014
Visit site
I hit the green phone button bottom left, hit Contacts top right and it shows just a small number of contacts. But as soon as I try to type anything in the Search box, 200+ (now 300+!) additional entries magically appear. Are these being dynamically found by Google or something?

Honestly at this point I would be happy with simply wiping all my contacts and starting over with nothing put in there except what I choose to manually put in there. Can I do this?

Thanks. :)

SpookDroid

Ambassador
Jul 14, 2011
Visit site
Yeah, if you go to Settings, Application Manager, ALL tab, find the Contacts app and wipe out cache and data. This will erase ALL CONTACT DATA from your phone. However, if you've set your phone to sync with Google or Facebook contacts, it will just re-sync them eventually.

charleskoz

Oct 24, 2014
Visit site
Thanks for the reply. I didn't know there were tabs in the Application Manager.

I did as you instructed, and I have Facebook uninstalled and my Google accounts set not to sync data, but everything is still there. :/

SpookDroid

Ambassador
Jul 14, 2011
Visit site