Galaxy S3 Hotspot works for Google but not other websites (connected to VAIO)

YammyPatchaya

Oct 9, 2013
Visit site
Hi all,

I am very new to Sumsung and not sure if the problem is being caused by Sumsung Galaxy S3, VAIO laptop, or Lycamobile data network.

The problem is: after a few hours I have managed to connect my Sumsung Hotspot to VAIO laptop. The signal strength is excelent. However when using Chrome, I could only connect to gmail, google search, and google+. There is no luck with google map, though. For other websites, a little window pops up saying "Opps! Google Chrome could not connect to www.yelp.co.uk" or simply "This webpage is not available"

When using Internet Explorer, none of the website could be connected...

Has anyone had this problem before or would you be able to advise what I should do please?

Thanks heap in advance,
Yammy

Haalcyon

Banned
Jul 19, 2013
Visit site
Welcome to Android Central Yammy!

Do you have tethering setup on your account with your carrier? It almost sounds as web access is being filtered.

EvilMonkey

Jun 4, 2010
Visit site
Welcome to the forums. I'm not familiar with Lycamobile, but I assume that's your carrier? Are you sure you have a tethering plan?

My guess is that you are not actually connected to the internet correctly and are looking at cached versions of those pages in Chrome. Try holding CTRL+F5 (which does a hard-refresh of the browser) and it'll probably come back saying it can't display the page.

You can also check the status of your internet connection on your Vaio to see if it's limited or not (typically you'll see the wifi thing down in the lower right by the clock, but you can also check the status in Control Panel).

YammyPatchaya

Oct 9, 2013
Visit site
Hi Haalcylon,

I have no idea...so prabably not. I only bought the unlimited data package from Lycamobile (who is network provider like Vodafone, 3mobile, O2)

Let me tey looking on their website to see if there is such option to buy.