Screen Keeps Waking Up Every Few Seconds

Noah Crowley

Jun 30, 2014
Visit site
Just today, my phone started waking itself up every few seconds after I had pressed the lock button and this is severely draining my battery. It has been doing it all day. I restarted my phone and it keeps happening. I have not manually updated anything recently. What can I do to make it stop!?

monicakm

Sep 8, 2012
Visit site
Same thing happened to me. It's "Air Wake up" and it's reallllly sensitive. Because of another thread on this forum, I was able to determine it was Air Wake and disable it. Go to Settings/Accessibility/Dexterity and interaction/Air Wake up. Hope that's the problem.
Monica

jrowlings

Jul 17, 2010
Visit site
There's also this thing called "wakelock" that I'm just learning about. It seems that some background apps make the screen turn on when doing background activities. I found Amazon Apps doing that so I disabled it. Google magazine. Some weather apps also. Disabling reduced the number of times this happened for me (but didn't eliminate). There is a wakelock detector app, but it requires root access. I'm currently trying "Battery Doctor" which closes background apps (except those you tell it not to) and that seems to be helping too. Hope this helps. Hope also that someone who knows more about this chimes in.

Paul37

Jul 28, 2014
Visit site
My phone is doing the same thing. I've only had the Galaxy s5 for a little over a month now and then all of a sudden the past day and a half it started doing this. In the lock screen it keeps waking up every 30 second and then in the home screen when it starts to dim out on the Time out after 15 second setting it then wakes back up again. Super annoying on a brand new phone. I have shut down all applications, made sure the things on the forums have been complied with (i.e. the Air wake and others etc.) and nothing. Will try the battery doctor and see if that does anything.

bluebaronca

Mar 24, 2016
Visit site