iPhone 7+ to Pixel 3 need feedback

chezm

Trusted Member
Sep 19, 2014
Visit site
Hello people,

Well the time has come for my hardware upgrade, I’ve been using the iPhone 7+ for 2 years and it’s been great for the most part but I refuse to pay the prices of X or XS, especially how I’m not a fan of the current iPhone design.

Pixel 3 (not XL) is what I’m looking to preorder, as I’ll get the stand free. My last android was a 6P which I loved for the first year until it started having a ton of problems and I moved to iPhone as I got a deal.

A couple of questions I have regarding android as it’s been two years and would appreciate some feedback.

1. Backup options? I like iOS because I could take a save state backup but android didn’t have that in past so they now? Not speaking about google account backups but a full system like iOS.

2. Android auto performance. I used android auto with 6P and worked great, CarPlay has some quirks (mostly related to podcast app). How’s android auto these days? Good experience with pixel 2?

3. Android pay/wallet. Does it work well? I love Apple Pay, confirmed my bank supports it. Any issues known that Apple Pay works but android pay doesn’t (guess for people who use both OS)?

4. iMessage is the thing I’m most disappointed to be giving up but it is what it is. I actually like the google messaging stock app a lot but was super basic, has it evolved in last 2 years? Are there embedded apps for the messanger that support gifs? iMessage has a # app I enjoyed to quickly find gifs to text(mms) to ppl.

5. I’ve got AirPods and love them, they should work with android. Any pixel 2 users with AirPods? If so how’s the experience? Ya I don’t care about Siri integration I never used it anyway.

Appreciate any feedback I can get on above.

Last edited:

anon(10092459)

Nov 25, 2016
Visit site
1. No. Account backup only.

2. Not versed enough. Perhaps someone more knowledgeable will respond.