LG V30 Pre-installed Apps (Can't Remove or Disable)

VinnieDaArm

Oct 12, 2017
Visit site
I'm new to LG phones. Tried going back to iPhone 7+, no thanks. I'm done with it. I had Nexus 6P in the past.

What is confusing me is that you can't uninstall the LG apps. I like to use other stuff (say Google apps or things like Textra). I've read that you can't uninstall Samsung or LG apps on their phones, but you can disable them.

The Disable button is grayed out so I can't disable them either.

That means I have two of everything running, eating memory, CPU, and space.

I cannot root as corporate policy won't let me connect if I do.

Anyone know of ways around this on the V30? I've read that it worked on older phones.

Many thanks,

Vince

Last edited:

DamianP

Jul 11, 2013
Visit site
re:

I just tried to uninstall the native calendar and text app, and uninstall is def greyed out. To be honest, I found the V30 quite free of bloat. Even in my ATT branded version, much of their crap was not preloaded, and anything that was, was easily disabled.

Gremmward

May 2, 2014
Visit site
re:

I use Textra, and have not had any issues with memory/CPU/slowing down. I think these phones now are able to handle running the extra messaging app without issue. O know in the back of my mind it bugs me that it's running, but I also know it's not going to drain the battery or system down enough to ruin the fun.

shaimere

Sep 14, 2016
Visit site
re:

Once you choose a different app for default such as textra over LG messaging app, the LG app no longer runs.. At least that's how it is on my g6 for both calendar and messaging

DFranch

May 22, 2014
Visit site
re:

Isn't there an app available to allow you to disable apps like this? I know there is on my Samsung, and I think I've seen it referred to for LG.

VinnieDaArm

Oct 12, 2017
Visit site
re: