Am I really the first cracked screen?

Oct 15, 2013
Visit site
All right, sorry, I'm new, everything about this post screams, "F*ck you, newb", but hey, you gotta start somewhere.

Well anyway, on a college visit to UB (uni at buffalo) and I was sitting in one of those movie theater/auditorium chairs, about a foot off of the concrete ground. Long story short, phone slips, falls, cracks. Screw me, right? Owned this phone 3 days, just starting to love everything about it, my ballistic case (thank you forums for the case knowlege), comes tomorrow. Refused a replacement from amazon.

TL;DR : cracked my screen after 3 days.

My main question is I am relatively new to smartphone hardware, and would replacing the touchscreen/ digitizer be an arduous, confusing task?
This makes it look easy
How to Repair a Broken Screen on a Tablet or Phone | How To | TechNewsWorld

Should i do it myself or look locally,

If i just cracked the lens (backround full works,) do i also need a digitizer?

If i do it myself, would i buy this?
New LG G2 D801 D802 Digitizer Touch Screen Top Outer Glass Panel Lens Black | eBay

or this
Amazon.com: ePartSolution-OEM LG G2 D801 D802 LCD Display Touch Digitizer Screen Assembly Black Replacement Part USA Seller: Cell Phones & Accessories

Thanks all, Case is on the way for my useless phone :)

Last edited:

Golfdriver97

Trusted Member Team Leader
Dec 4, 2012
Visit site
All right, sorry, I'm new, everything about this post screams, "F*ck you, newb", but hey, you got start somewhere.

Well anyway, on a college visit to UB (uni at buffalo) and I was sitting in one of those movie theater/auditorium chairs, about a foot off of the concrete ground. Long story short, phone slips, falls, cracks. Screw me right? Owned this phone 3 days, just starting to love everything about it, my ballistic case (thank you forums for the case knowlege), comes tomorrow. Refused a replacement from amazon.

TL;DR : cracked my screen after 3 days.