Android 10 widgets on a Moto E7i Power question.

• Thread starter Android Central Question
  • Start date
A

Android Central Question

As a Smartphone rookie, I have just bought a Moto e7i Power for my wife and am trying to set it up.

It has Android 10 installed; long press on the screen and all that appears is Home Setting and Wallpapers, no Widgets.

I want to add a home screen short-cut to my mobile number, and I think that can be done via a widget, but only if there is the widget app available.

How can I get this to work?

Thanks

Javier P

Ambassador
Feb 21, 2014
Visit site
Welcome to the forums. The Moto E7i Power is an Android Go Edition phone and in these devices the stock launcher doesn't include the widget drawer. Install a custom launcher, such as Nova, and see if it works.

I would recommend you to create an account so you can reply on this thread.

Rekusu

Sep 12, 2021
Visit site
Thanks for the replies. I have a Galaxy J5 that a friend gave me when he up-graded. I have had not problems with it and even managed to put a shortcut for my wife's mobile on the home page.

With this Moto that I have bought for her, I am now somewhat annoyed that Android appears to do less of what I want but a lot more of what I don't want. Didn't know that when I bought it!

What is a custom launcher and what does it do?

The problem' is rather basic really. Both of us want a phone that has a nice to look at screen, makes phone call, texts, may be photos and a couple of other bits and bobs. Neither of us want a phone that stores thousands of photos, is constantly updating stuff from the web, we don't want to watch movies or listen to music, play games, etc. but all those things come included. It seems impossible to just get the basic necessities.

Javier P

Ambassador
Feb 21, 2014
Visit site