Is It Worth Rooting and Installing CM 4.2.2?

DJCUEBALL

Sep 11, 2010
Visit site
I'm on the fence about rooting my Verizon S3 to install CM 4.2.2. Is it an easy process? What are the advantages and disadvantages?

I'm new to this and would appreciate all feedback.

Thank you in advance.

Johnly

Retired Moderator
Oct 6, 2010
Visit site
Just don't rush through. That is why people mess up. Read and understand the entire process, and take your time to. Look at why people fail. Understand how they failed so you don't have to. CM is a great rom.

Sent from my SCH-I605 using Tapatalk 2

DJCUEBALL

Sep 11, 2010
Visit site
I will definitely take my time and read through many tutorials. Is it worth losing any major features from Samsung's modified OS?

famouzstarz#AC

Dec 13, 2010
Visit site
whats your interest in rooting? for the cool factor of having a rooted phone? or to use its unlocked capabilities?

there are stock debloated roms that still give your all the touchwiz stuff

CM10.1 / 10.2 is what it is packed with allot of features is AOSP if you realy like the stock features of touchwiz CM roms are probably not for you.

bsannes

Feb 28, 2011
Visit site
whats your interest in rooting? for the cool factor of having a rooted phone? or to use its unlocked capabilities?

there are stock debloated roms that still give your all the touchwiz stuff

CM10.1 / 10.2 is what it is packed with allot of features is AOSP if you realy like the stock features of touchwiz CM roms are probably not for you.

Have to agree here. Don't get me wrong CM is great but you will lose alot of features you have with the Touchwiz Rom. But rooting is nice opens up the phone ALOT ....but also comes with a whole new world of things that can go wrong. LikeJohnly said take your time and understand what to do and what not to and read read read.

DJCUEBALL

Sep 11, 2010
Visit site