Duplicate contacts after whatsapp installation

isicles

Nov 18, 2017
Visit site
Hi,

I am new to the world of android. Moving from windows mobile.

I got a new phone mi a1. Got started using my gmail account. Checked my contacts. It had in total 3 contacts. Then installed whatapp. works well. Checked my contacts again. Now i had 6 contacts. Each names showing up 2 times.

Checked contacts.google.com. Had in total 3 contacts and not 6.

Linked one contact in contacts app to check. Now cannot even unlink it.

So now i have total 5 contacts in my contacts list. (2 Contacts shown twice and one contact linked which cant be unlinked).

Any idea why this happens? What is the solution? Once this sorted i can move my actual contacts from Hotmail to gmail.

Hoping to find the solution soon.

Thanks

B. Diddy

Senior Ambassador
Mar 9, 2012
Visit site
Welcome to Android Central! Go to Settings>Accounts (in the system settings, not the WhatsApp settings). Is there a WhatsApp account listed? If so, select it and see if there's an option to turn off Contact Sync.

isicles

Nov 18, 2017
Visit site
Sync turned off. But duplicates still remain.

I removed WhatsApp from settings - account and no more duplicates in contacts and WhatsApp working fine but it reappears after a while.

A Bochur

Oct 1, 2017
Visit site
when you have contacts that use WhatsApp, your contacts app will make a separate contact for that person but your contacts app is supposed to link them automatically.

so you should just link all of them. in the contacts app go to the menu and select 'manage similar contacts' and link them

isicles

Nov 18, 2017
Visit site
Contacts app has a option to merge duplicates. When tried it tells no duplicates found.

I can manually link each contact one at a time.

A Bochur

Oct 1, 2017
Visit site
it's supposed to link them automatically. that's what happens on my phone and any phone that I've seen.